Last November 2018 we hosted a very successful session at the American Academy of Optometry (AAO) in San Antonio, Texas, where we had the first preview of the long awaited white papers the IMI has been leading. 

The session was attended by up to 400 people.  The IMI brought together the following committee chairs, Professor Earl Smith (University of Houston), Professor Christine Wildsoet (UC Berkeley), Professor David Troilo (SUNY), Professor Ian Flitcroft (Mater Hospital, Dublin Institute of Technology), Professor James Wolffsohn (Aston University) and Dr Kate Gifford (Gerry & Johnson Optometrists, Queensland University of Technology); in a session that presented the key findings of the white papers and the implications for the eye care professions, followed by an in-depth panel discussion.

IMI white papers will be released in late Feb 2019.


Defining and Classifying Myopia

Prof. Ian Flitcroft (Leader)

Committee members:

  • Prof. Kyoko Ohno-Matsui
  • Prof. Lawrence Yannuzzi
  • Prof. Jost Jonas
  • Prof. Jugnoo Rahi
  • Prof. Serge Resnikoff
  • Dr. Monica Jong
  • Prof. Mingguang He
  • Prof. Kovin Naidoo
  • Dr. Susan Vitale

Interventions for Myopia Onset and Progression

Prof. Christine Wildsoet (Leader)

Committee members:

  • Dr. Klaus Trier
  • Prof. Seang Mei Saw
  • Prof. Padmaja Sankaridurg
  • Dr. Jeff Walline
  • Prof. Jez Guggenheim
  • Prof. Audrey Chia Wei Lin
  • Prof. Pei-Chang Wu
  • Dr. Scott Read
  • Dr. Pauline Cho
  • Dr. Jan Polling
Clinical Trial Control Trials and Instrumentation

Prof. James Wolffsohn (Leader)

Committee members:

  • Dr. David Berntsen
  • Dr. Alexandra Benavente
  • Dr. Takohiro Hiraoka
  • Dr. Scott Read
  • Dr. David Atchison
  • Dr. Takashi Fujikado
  • Dr. Hetal Buckhurst
  • Dr. Pete Kolbaum
  • Dr. Arthur Bradley
  • Dr. Debbie Jones
  • Dr. Hidemasa Torii
  • Dr. Michael Collins
  • Dr. Nicola Logan
  • Dr. Linda Lundstrom
  • Masakazu Hirota
Industry Guidelines and Ethical Considerations for Myopia Control

Prof. Lyndon Jones (Leader)

Committee members:

  • Dr. Fuen Vera-Diaz
  • Dr. Jacinto Santodomingo-Rubido
  • Dr. Timo Kratzer
  • Dr. Katrina Schmid
  • Dr. Jose Gonzales-Meijome
  • Dr. Stephanie Ramdass
  • Dr. Steve Newman
  • Prof. Jason Nichols
  • Dr. Bjorn Drobe
  • Dr. Lyle Gray
  • Prof. Donald Tan
  • Dr. Kah Ooi Tan
  • Dr. Arne Ohlendorf
  • Dr. Yee Ling Wong
Clinical Myopia Management Guidelines

Dr Kate Gifford (Leader)

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Langis Michaud
  • Dr. Tom Aller
  • Dr. Pauline Kang
  • Dr. Kathryn Richdale
  • Prof. Carly Lam
  • Mr. Jeroen Mulder
  • Dr. Dirk Seidel
  • Dr. Kathryn Saunders
  • Dr. Maria Liu
  • Dr. Willem Tideman
  • Dr. Janis Orr
  • Prof. Kathy Rose
Experimental Models of Emmetropizationand Myopia

Prof. Earl Smith and David Troilo (Leaders)

Committee Members:

  • Prof. David Troilo
  • Prof. Siegfried Wahl
  • Dr. Lisa Ostrin
  • Dr. Kee Chea-su
  • Dr. Tim Gawne
  • Dr. Andrei Tkatchenko
  • Prof. Machelle Pardue
  • Dr. Regan Ashby
  • Dr. Debora Nickla
  • Dr. Jody Summers
  • Dr. Falk Schroedl
Myopia Genetics

Prof. Caroline Klaver (Leader)

Committee Members:

  • Dr. Virginie Verhoeven
  • Prof. Chris Hammond
  • Dr. Magda A. Meester-Smoor
  • Dr. Milly S. Tedja
  • Dr. Jaakko Kaprio
  • Dr. Annechien E.G. Haarman
  • Prof. David A. Mackey
  • Prof. Jeremy A. Guggenheim
  • CREAM Consortium
Harmonisation Committee

Professor James Wolffsohn (Leader)

Committee Members:

  • Prof. Padmaja Sankaridurg
  • Prof. Serge Resnikoff
  • Prof. Earl L. Smith
  • Prof. Lyndon Jones
  • Prof. Kovin Naidoo
  • Dr. Kate Gifford
  • Dr. Monica Jong